Page 1 2 3 4 5 6

 

Stony-meteorites

 

Stony meteorites represent the probably most heterogeneous class within the science of meteorites. In it all sorts of meteorite types and -groups are summarized, which only one thing in common: that they are put together to the large part out of stone, that is out of different silicatesand other stoneforming minerals. Nevertheless Stony meteorites often contain also much nickel and iron, many even in such quantities that they could be regarded confidently as Stony-iron- or as atypical Iron meteorites. Out of reasons of their chemical relationship, nevertheless nowadays these "outsiders" are usually regarded as Stony meteorites.

Concerning the frequency, the Stony meteorites make up 92,8% of all observed cases. Until now only about 35 tons of Stony meteorites were found, what corresponds to a weight share of merely 16% of the total mass of all well known meteorites. That's so, because Stony meteorites are usually smaller than Iron or Stony-iron-meteorites. A further reason for this discrepancy is, that Stony meteorites are not recognized so easily as such, because they look much more similarly like earthly rocks and differ not so much in weight to them. Moreover, based on their mineral compound, they weather substantially more quickly than their metallic relatives, what makes very old finds much rarer. Exceptions like the "fossile" meteorite from Osterplana prove the rule (see Records).

The Stony meteorites are subdivided by meteorite science into two basic classes, in Chondrites and Achondrites. The Chondrites are the most frequent meteorites generally and represent 85,7% of all observed cases. They distinguish thenselves on first view by more or less frequent, ball-like patterns, the chondrules, known only from meteorites. In Achondrites these chondrules are missing - as the name shows, and with 7,1% of all observed cases they also are much scarcer.

This distinction seems at first sight just as arbitrarily and superficially like most categories of the old meteorites science, but modern research found out, that just these classes are revealing us very much about the origin and nature of our solar system and therefore are distinguished rightly. Nowadays one knows for example, that Chondrites are almost unchanged cosmic premeval matter, witness from the time of the origin of our Solar system, while the Achondrites represent different steps of the differentiation and/or the development of cosmic matter. The Achondrites give testimony therefrom, like out of chondriticl premeval matter by and by through impacts, conglomeration and on the following geological processes complex worlds emerged, which often are very similar to our Earth and mediate to us an entirely new picture of our own planet.

In the connection with these realizations, also the old distinction between Iron-, Stony-iron- and Stony meteorites appears in a new light. If Chondrites are more or less undifferentiated premeval matter, all other meteorite represent not only different steps of the differentiation, but rather also certain layers of differentiated mother bodies. Iron meteorites are samples of the core, Stony-iron-meteorites of the coat, and Stony meteorites of the class of the Achondrites the external crust of other, geological developed sky bodies.

 

Chondrites
Achondrites

Seite 1 2 3 4 5 6

 Meteorit am Fundort

Stein-Meteorite

 

Die Steinmeteorite stellen die wohl heterogenste Klasse innerhalb der Meteoritenkunde dar. In ihr werden verschiedenste Meteoritentypen und -gruppen zusammengefasst, die lediglich eines gemeinsam haben: dass sie zum grossen Teil aus Stein, das heisst aus verschiedenen Silikaten und anderen gesteinsbildenden Mineralien zusammengesetzt sind. Nichtdestotrotz enthalten Steinmeteorite oft auch viel Nickel und Eisen, manche sogar in solchen Mengen, dass sie getrost als Steineisen- oder als atypische Eisenmeteorite betrachtet werden könnten. Aus Gründen der chemischen Verwandtschaft werden diese "Aussenseiter" aber heute dennoch meist zu den Steinmeteoriten gezählt.

Was die Häufigkeit betrifft, stellen die Steinmeteorite 92,8% aller beobachteten Fälle. Es wurden aber bisher nur ca. 35 Tonnen Steinmeteorite gefunden, was einem Gewichtsanteil von bloss 16% der Gesamtmasse aller bekannten Meteorite entspricht. Dies liegt u.a. daran, dass Steinmeteorite meist kleiner sind als Eisen- oder Steineisenmeteorite. Ein weiterer Grund für diese Diskrepanz liegt darin, dass Steinmeteorite nicht so leicht als solche erkannt werden, da sie irdischen Gesteinen viel ähnlicher sehen und sich im Gewicht nicht so sehr von ihnen unterscheiden. Ausserdem verwittern sie aufgrund ihres Mineralbestandes wesentlich rascher als ihre metallischen Verwandten, was sehr alte Funde viel seltener macht. Ausnahmen wie der "fossile" Meteorit von Osterplana bestätigen auch hier die Regel (siehe Rekorde).

Die Steinmeteorite werden von der Meteoritenkunde in zwei grundlegende Klassen unterteilt, in die Chondrite und Achondrite. Die Chondrite sind die häufigsten Meteorite überhaupt und repräsentieren 85,7% aller beobachteten Fälle. Sie zeichnen sich auf den ersten Blick durch mehr oder weniger häufige, kugelartige Gebilde aus, die als Chondren bezeichnet werden und nur aus Meteoriten bekannt sind. Den Achondriten fehlen - wie der Name schon sagt - diese Chondren, und sie sind mit 7,1% aller beobachteten Fälle auch wesentlich seltener.

Diese Unterscheidung scheint zunächst genauso willkürlich und oberflächlich wie die meisten Kategorien der alten Meteoritenkunde, aber die moderne Forschung hat herausgefunden, dass gerade diese Klassen uns sehr viel über die Entstehung und die Natur unseres Sonnensystems verraten und somit zu Recht unterschieden werden. So weiss man heute z.B., dass Chondrite nahezu unveränderte kosmische Urmaterie sind, Zeugen aus der Zeit der Entstehung unseres Sonnensystems, während die Achondrite verschiedene Stufen der Differenzierung bzw. der Entwicklung kosmischer Materie darstellen. Die Achondrite legen Zeugnis davon ab, wie aus chondritischer Urmaterie nach und nach durch Impakte, Zusammenballungen und darauf folgende geologische Prozesse komplexe Welten entstanden sind, die unserer Erde oft sehr ähnlich sind und uns ein ganz neues Bild von unserem eigenen Planeten vermitteln.

Im Zusammenhang dieser Erkenntnisse erscheint auch die alte Unterscheidung zwischen Eisen-, Steineisen- und Steinmeteoriten in neuem Licht. Wenn Chondrite mehr oder weniger undifferenzierte Urmaterie sind, repräsentieren alle anderen Meteorite nicht nur verschiedene Stufen der Differenzierung, sondern auch bestimmte Schichten differenzierter Mutterkörper. Eisenmeteorite sind Muster von Kernen, Steineisenmeteorite entsprechen dem Mantel und die Steinmeteorite der Klasse der Achondrite repräsentieren last but not least die äussere Kruste anderer, geologisch entwickelter Himmelskörper.

 

 

Chondrite
Achondrite