Page 1 2 3

 

Iron-meteoritesMit Geländewagen auf Suche

 

 

Iron meteorites represent the largest group of all meteorite findings outside of the hot deserts of Africa and Asia and the ice of the Antarctica, as they can be recognized by layman by their metallic consistence and their heavy weight easily as meteorites. Moreover they weather slower than their stony relatives and are mostly much bigger, because they are compact and more stable and therefore rarely burst on their passage through the atmosphere as well as when they bounce on the earth. You find a list of the giants of the iron meteorites in the section Records.

In spite of this and the fact that all iron meteorites with a total weight of more than 300 tons come up to more than 80% of the total mass of all well known meteorites, they are however comparatively rare. Iron meteorites frequently are found and easily identified as meteorites, but nevertheless they make out merely 5,7% of all watched falls.

Concerning classification, iron meteorites are divided according to two completely different schemes into groups. The first scheme is a sort of relic from the times of classic meteorite science and distinguishes iron meteorites according to their structure and their prevailing mineral consistence, the second scheme is rather a modern attempt, dividing iron meteorites into chemical classes and thus trying to relate them to certain mother bodies.

 

Structural classification
Chemical classification

Seite 1 2 3

 

Eisen-MeteoriteMit Geländewagen auf Suche



Eisenmeteorite repräsentieren den grössten Teil aller Meteoritenfunde außerhalb der heißen Wüsten Afrikas und Asiens und dem Eis der Antarktis, weil sie aufgrund ihrer metallischen Beschaffenheit und ihres hohen Gewichts auch von Laien leicht als Meteorite erkannt werden. Außerdem verwittern sie wesentlich langsamer als ihre steinigen Verwandten und sind meist um einiges grösser, da sie kompakter und stabiler sind und daher auf ihrer Passage durch die Atmosphäre sowie beim Aufprall auf die Erde seltener zerbersten. Eine Liste der Giganten unter den Eisenmeteoriten finden Sie unter der Rubrik Rekorde.

Trotz dieser Fakten und der Tatsache, dass alle Eisenmeteorite mit einem Gesamtgewicht von mehr als 300 Tonnen über 80% der Gesamtmasse aller bekannten Meteorite ausmachen, sind sie doch verhältnismäßig selten. Eisenmeteorite werden zwar häufig gefunden und leicht als Meteorite identifiziert, aber sie stellen dennoch bloss 5,7% aller beobachteten Fälle.

Was die Klassifizierung betrifft, werden Eisenmeteorite nach zwei vollständig verschiedenen Schemata in Gruppen unterteilt. Das erste Schema ist eine Art Relikt aus den Zeiten der klassischen Meteoritenkunde und unterscheidet die Eisenmeteorite nach ihrer Struktur und ihrem vorherrschenden Mineralbestand, das zweite Schema ist ein eher moderner Ansatz, der die Eisenmeteorite in chemische Klassen unterteilt und sie so bestimmten Mutterkörpern zuzuordnen versucht.

Strukturelle Klassifikation
Chemische Klassifikation